Advancing Watermedia in South Carolina

On-Going and Upcoming Events

  • The National Exhibition call is now closed. Selected artists will be announced July 5!
  • The 2024 National Exhibition Workshop with Ken Call has ONE seat open. Grab yours!
  • Catherine Hillis will offer an online watercolor workshop on August 8 from 9:30AM- 11AM.  Click here for details and to register.
  • Meet our 2024 President!  Click here


2024 Spring Digital Show

The SCWS Spring Digital Show brought in more than 120 entries from nearly 90 artists. Judged by juror Alexis Lavine, this year’s digital show features Toni Elkin’s The Fishes In Play (Best in Show, above), Fast Track by Lori Wilson (2nd Place), Van Gogh Madonna by Maura Kenny (3rd Place), and Urban Cowgirl by Trish Poupard (Honorable Mention).  View the winners, accepted artists, and complete exhibition on the Spring Digital Show webpage now!

The SCWS is proud to congratulate the following artists on their acceptance to the 2024 Spring Digital Show:

Suzanne Accetta, Victoria Alger, Teresa Anderson, Gina Noelle Ash, Kelly Atkinson, Katherine Bates, Jean Blackmer, Anne Bradham, Pam Johnson Brickell, Sharron Burns, Frankie Bush, Allan Butt, MC Churchill-Nash, Dale Cochran, Rosie Coleman, Walter Costilow, Gail Cunningham, Suzy Czerwinski, Jennifer Edwards, Toni Elkins, Lynda English, SW, Carolyn Epperly, Renea Eshleman, Nancy Falciani, David Gardner, Denise Greer, Lyssa Harvey, Mary Ann Haven, Karyn Healey, Peter Helwing, Jack Hickson, Anne Hightower-Patterson, Pete Holland, Susan Hopps, Mary Houser, Chao-Ying Hsieh, Ida Irby, John James, Renee Kahn, Maura Kenny, Kathy Kitz, Karen Larrabee, Anita Laudone, Alicia Leeke, Ron Malone, Constance Manley, Georgia Mason, Rebecca Masters, Rebecca McDuffie, Lee Monts, Kathryn Morganelli, Al Morris, Candace Naumowicz Zacher, Wesa Neely, Heather Noe, McClain Percy, Trish Poupard, Elizabeth Purcell, Marcia Pyner, Jill Hassall Rees, Sharon Reinckens, Jeanne Rietzke, Karen Romani, Jim Rowe, Jordi Rowe, Kay Rugh, Ruth Saunders, David Schuppert, Nancy Seay, Alan Smith, Constance Spencer, Becky Steele, Gregory Supple, Becky Taylor, Barbara Terry, Genia Tyson, Junco Uras, Rachel Varner, Amy Weaver, Kathryn Wedge, Lori Wilson, Beth Woodall, and Brian Zell

2024 National Exhibition Prospectus Released

Explore the 2024 National Exhibition Prospectus today to prepare for the call opening April 14! The National Exhibition will be judged by artist Ken Call!


46th Annual National Exhibition Award Winners

The 2023 National Exhibition brought in 122 entries from 89 artists, and 64 paintings were selected to hang at the Pickens Art and History Museum. Selecting 13 monetary award-winners and inviting 13 works to the Travel Exhibition Program, Juror JJ Jiang recognized artists Xiao Xing Hu (first), MC Churchill-Nash (second), and Lee Monts (third) especially. We encourage viewers to explore our complete show gallery and LookBook, which includes Jiang’s commentary on the show as a whole and the individual award winning pieces. First Place was awarded to Xiao Xing Hu for “Weekend Fair,” pictured left.

SCWS Recognizes Newest Signature Members

Congratulations to our most recent class of Signature Status Members

Katherine Bates

Ron Boozer

Anne Bradham

Lisa Franklin

John E. James

Connie Manley

Al Morris

Trish Poupard

Marcia Pyner

Lori Wilson

Artists Accepted to The National Exhibition

The SCWS Board sincerely congratulates all artists accepted to the 2023 National Exhibition. Artists are listed below in alphabetical order by last name. 

Suzanne Accetta, Teresa Anderson, Gina Noelle Ash, Judy Avrett, Katherine Bates, Alston Beckman, Jefferson Boozer, Anne Bradham, Sharron Burns, Ingrid Carson, Kathy Caudill, M.C. Churchill-Nash, K. Dale Cochran, Rosie Coleman, Walter Costilow, Patty Cunningham, Zarina Docken, Jennifer Edwards, Toni Elkins, Lynda English, Carolyn Epperly, Renea Eshleman, Donna Gore, Lynn Greer, Lyssa Harvey, Mary Lou Hightower, Anne Hightower-Patterson, Catherine Hillis, Xiao Xing Hu, Alice Jackson, John James, Russell Jewell, Kie Johnson, Steven Jordan, Maura Kenny, Carole Knudson-Tinsley, Pat Konicki, Madeline Kozlowski, Christopher Lane, Alexis Lavine, Stacy Lund Levy, Ron Malone, Constance Manley, Rebecca McDuffie, Audrey Montgomery, Lee Monts, Kathryn Morganelli, Al Morris, Candace Naumowicz Zacher, Wesa Neely, Daryl Nicholson, Trish Poupard, Elizabeth Purcell, Nancy Seay, Rosemary Segreti, Constance Spencer, Lizabeth Thompson, Genia Tyson, Junco Uras, Viviane Van Giesen, Rachel Varner, Christine Walker, Gail Watson, Kathryn Wedge, and Lori Wilson


Since 1977, the South Carolina Watermedia Society has been promoting the artistic and professional interests of its members as well as providing visual arts programs to the public. The Society works towards achieving its goals by making the accomplishments of its members available to a broad base of South Carolinians.

SCWS, the largest statewide visual arts group, is an active presenting organization. We nurture and promote South Carolina artists by providing exhibition opportunities, special programs to market original works, and educational programs. In addition, our goals include public outreach and participation in the arts community.

Join Today!