The National Exhibition: A History

The South Carolina Watermedia Society engages with artists across South Carolina and the United States. Since 1978 and under the direction of our dedicated presidents, the organization has held regular National Exhibitions. These exhibitions are judged by nationally recognized artists and showcase the talents of watermedia artists both locally and nationally known. If you have any historical information you would like to contribute, please email To view works that have been awarded Best of Show, please visit our Best of Show: A History page.

President Name(s) Year Served Exhibition Location Juror
Mark Durlach 1978
Margaret Gilliam 1979
Steven Jordan 1980
Jack Dowis 1981
Elsa Turner 1982
Guy Lipscomb 1983
Jeanet Dreskin 1984
Rhett Thurman 1985
Wade Hurley 1986
Pat Lusk 1987
JoAnne Anderson 1988 Anderson, SC
Clarie Farrell 1989 Columbia, SC
Nancy Bourne 1990
Steve McCrae 1991
Lorin Mason 1992
Randolph Armstrong 1993  Spartanburg, SC
Cecile Martin & JoAnne Anderson 1994 Anderson, SC
Jill Noel Stafford 1995
Bonnie Hood 1996
Angela Bradburn 1997 Columbia, SC
Harriet Goode 1998 Rock Hill, SC
Sudie Payne Daves 1999
Linda McCane 2000
Barbara Lothrop 2001
Jim Finch 2002 Columbia, SC
Anne Heard & Rosemary Moore 2003
Jill Stafford 2004
Anna Kay Singley 2005
Toni Elkins 2006
Larry Mauldin 2007
Janice Coward 2008
Pollie Bristow 2009 Florence, SC
Jennifer Hamilton 2010 Rock Hill, SC
Carolyn Epperly 2011 Charleston, SC
Renea Eshlemena 2012 Columbia, SC Carol Carter
Vickie Bailey Ebbers 2013 Hilton Head Island, SC Linda Daly Baker
Rosemary Moore 2014 Anderson, SC Bill Jameson
Jill Stafford 2015 North Augusta, SC Kristin Casaeletto
Brenda Lawson 2016 Myrtle Beach, SC Marc Taro Holmes
Carolyn Epperly 2017 Charleston, SC  Linda Daly Baker
Anne Hightower-Patterson 2018 Columbia, SC Laurie Goldstein-Warren
Lynda English 2019 Florence, SC Ryan Fox
Russell Jewell 2020 Digital Exhibition Ted Nuttall
Russell Jewell 2021 Pickens, SC Fred Graff
Renea Eshlemen 2022 Columbia, SC  Linda Daly Baker
Al Morris 2023 Pickens, SC  JJ Jiang
Victoria Alger 2024 Myrtle Beach, SC Announcement Coming Soon!